Disclosure: this page contains affiliate links. East Bay Cyber may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. That never changes how we rank products. Editorial policy.
CVE-2026-42822: Azure Local Authentication Flaw
Critical CVSS (10.0) reachable over network.
TL;DR - CVE-2026-42822 is an authentication flaw in Microsoft Azure Local Disconnected Operations with a reported CVSS score of 10.0. - An unauthorized attacker can reportedly connect over the network and elevate privileges. - No public proof of concept or confirmed exploitation was identified; verify Microsoft’s fix and restrict exposure now.
What Happened, in Brief
CVE-2026-42822 affects Microsoft Azure Local Disconnected Operations. The NVD description states that improper authentication allows an unauthorized attacker to elevate privileges over a network. In effect, network reachability could become a path to high-impact administrative access.
The vulnerability is rated CVSS 10.0 in the available NVD record. It is not listed in the CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog, and the supplied research did not identify a public proof of concept or independent report of exploitation. Those findings limit the available evidence of active exploitation, but they do not establish that exploitation is impossible or that every deployment is safe.
Analyst’s Take: Treat this as an exposure-management problem first, not a threat-intelligence waiting game. The maximum CVSS score and reported unauthenticated network path justify restricting access while the affected and fixed versions remain unverified. The absence of a public PoC or CISA KEV entry does not resolve that uncertainty.
| Field | Assessment |
|---|---|
| CVE ID | CVE-2026-42822 |
| Product | Microsoft Azure Local Disconnected Operations |
| CVSS score | 10.0, according to the available NVD record |
| CVSS vector | Not available in the retrieved record; obtain it from NVD or Microsoft MSRC |
| Attack vector | Network |
| Authentication required | None reported; the description refers to an unauthorized attacker |
| Privileges required | The issue is described as enabling privilege escalation; the prerequisite privilege level is not separately specified |
| Patch available | Not verified from the retrieved sources |
| CISA KEV status | Not listed |
What’s the Root Cause?
The reported root cause is improper authentication. In practical terms, an Azure Local Disconnected Operations component appears to accept or process a network request without correctly proving that the requesting party is authorized to perform the operation. The stated security consequence is privilege escalation, meaning a successful attacker could obtain permissions beyond those legitimately assigned.
The available material does not identify the affected endpoint, protocol, authentication mechanism, code path, required request format, or exact privilege boundary. It would therefore be unsafe to characterize this as a specific token-validation, certificate-validation, session-management, or API authorization defect. Defenders should treat those details as unresolved until Microsoft publishes technical remediation information.
This uncertainty matters operationally. A network-reachable authentication defect can be exposed through a management interface, service endpoint, or disconnected-operations workflow that is not intended to be Internet-facing but is reachable from a broad internal network. Segmenting the appliance or cluster from ordinary user networks is prudent while the vendor’s affected-version and mitigation guidance is confirmed.
Organizations reviewing authorization design may also find the ABAC glossary guide useful when evaluating whether administrative access is constrained by identity, role, resource, and context.
Who Needs to Act?
Organizations operating Microsoft Azure Local Disconnected Operations should investigate immediately. The supplied NVD response identifies the product but does not provide an affected version range. It also does not identify a build number, servicing baseline, update package, or fixed release. Consequently, no defensible statement such as “all versions before X are affected” can be made from the available evidence.
The Microsoft MSRC advisory is the authoritative source for the exact scope. Its retrieved response exposed only a client-rendered application shell, so the affected-version and fixed-version fields could not be verified. Administrators should inventory Azure Local deployments, record the operating release and servicing level, and compare those values with the advisory at Microsoft Security Response Center.
| Item requiring verification | Current status |
|---|---|
| Affected version range | Not specified in the retrieved NVD response |
| Fixed version | Not verified |
| Microsoft update identifier | Not verified |
| Azure Local deployment applicability | Operators must confirm against MSRC guidance |
| Recommended assumption | Treat exposed, unverified deployments as potentially vulnerable |
Do not infer that a deployment is unaffected merely because it uses a recent Azure Local release. Conversely, do not install an update intended for a different Azure Local servicing channel without confirming compatibility with Microsoft’s documentation and the deployment’s support model.
Why This CVSS Score?
NVD records a CVSS base score of 10.0, the maximum possible base score. The available description supports a network-based attack path and an unauthorized attacker, while the reported impact is privilege escalation. A maximum score indicates that the scoring authority assessed the vulnerability as having an especially severe combination of exploitability and impact.
However, the complete CVSS vector string was not present in the retrieved data. Therefore, the exact values for attack complexity, privileges required, user interaction, scope, confidentiality impact, integrity impact, and availability impact cannot be independently reproduced here. In particular, the 10.0 score should not be used to infer every individual vector component without retrieving the full NVD or Microsoft scoring record.
For prioritization, defenders should still treat this as an emergency-level issue where the affected service is reachable by untrusted or broadly trusted networks. CVSS is a severity measure, not proof of exploitation. The absence of a CISA KEV listing and the lack of an identified PoC do not override the risk of an unauthenticated network path to privilege escalation.
Has It Been Exploited?
No confirmed in-the-wild exploitation was identified in the supplied NVD record, Microsoft reference, CISA KEV result, or search results reviewed for this assessment. CVE-2026-42822 is not listed in CISA KEV, so CISA has not published a catalog entry, due date, required action, or ransomware-campaign designation for this CVE.
No verified public proof-of-concept repository, exploit code, or independent technical demonstration was identified. The current classification is therefore: public PoC not identified; confirmed exploitation not identified; CISA KEV confirmation absent. The social and GitHub mention counts in the accompanying metadata reflect the supplied research scope, not a guarantee that no discussion exists elsewhere.
CISA KEV status is a useful signal but not a complete threat-intelligence verdict. A vulnerability can be exploited without appearing in KEV, especially before public reporting, catalog review, or sufficient evidence becomes available. Organizations should monitor authentication, administrative-action, and network telemetry rather than waiting for a KEV update.
Detection Guidance
Start with exposure identification. Locate all Azure Local deployments using Disconnected Operations, document which interfaces or services are reachable from user VLANs, management networks, partner networks, or the Internet, and record the platform build and update state. Because the affected version range is not available, an inventory that cannot be matched to Microsoft’s advisory should remain in the potentially affected category.
For compromise hunting, look for successful or failed authentication events involving unexpected source addresses, administrative actions performed outside approved maintenance windows, and privilege changes that lack a corresponding change ticket. The available CVE information does not provide a product-specific event ID, endpoint, or request signature, so generic indicators must be supplemented with Microsoft’s eventual advisory and platform logging guidance.
Security teams that use vulnerability scanners can compare their inventory and authenticated scan coverage with the Nessus pricing and licensing guide before selecting an assessment approach. Scanning will not replace Microsoft’s version-specific guidance, but it can help identify exposed assets and incomplete inventory data.
Technical Notes
Use an environment-specific query to identify suspicious authentication and privilege activity. The following Microsoft Sentinel-style KQL is a starting point; field names and table availability must be validated against the Azure Local logging pipeline:
let lookback = 14d;
union isfuzzy=true
SigninLogs,
AuditLogs,
WindowsEvent
| where TimeGenerated > ago(lookback)
| where tostring(ResultDescription) has_any ("authentication", "credential", "unauthorized")
or tostring(OperationName) has_any ("role", "privilege", "administrator", "elevat")
| extend SourceIP = coalesce(tostring(IPAddress), tostring(ClientIP), tostring(IpAddress))
| summarize Events=count(),
FirstSeen=min(TimeGenerated),
LastSeen=max(TimeGenerated),
Operations=make_set(OperationName, 20)
by UserPrincipalName, SourceIP, ResultType, ResultDescription
| where Events > 0
| order by LastSeen desc
A useful network pattern is repeated connection attempts to the Azure Local Disconnected Operations management endpoint from a source that is not part of the approved management subnet, followed by a successful authentication or privileged operation. No authoritative port, URI, or protocol signature was supplied for this CVE, so defenders should not block a guessed port or search for an invented URL. Capture the relevant service logs and preserve source IP, destination, timestamp, identity, result, and requested operation.
Remediation and Patching
The primary remediation is to apply the Microsoft-provided security update or servicing package that explicitly addresses CVE-2026-42822. The exact affected version range, fixed version number, and update identifier were not present in the retrieved NVD response and could not be extracted from the client-rendered MSRC page. Those values must be obtained from the Microsoft advisory before declaring a deployment patched.
Until Microsoft’s version guidance is confirmed, restrict access to Azure Local Disconnected Operations to approved management networks, remove unnecessary Internet reachability, and review administrative credentials and sessions for suspicious activity. If compromise is suspected, isolate the affected deployment according to the organization’s Azure Local incident-response procedures and rotate potentially exposed credentials only after preserving evidence.
For teams reviewing privileged credentials during remediation, a password manager such as Try 1Password → can help centralize unique credentials and controlled access. It is an operational safeguard, not a patch or substitute for network restriction and Microsoft’s supported update.
Technical Notes
No verified vendor-specific upgrade command can be supplied without the applicable Azure Local release and update identifier. Do not substitute a guessed package or generic operating-system update command. After Microsoft identifies the fixed release, use the documented Azure Local update workflow for that release and verify the resulting build against the MSRC advisory.
As an interim control, a Windows-hosted management endpoint may be restricted with a narrowly scoped inbound firewall rule, provided Microsoft’s deployment architecture and support guidance permit host firewall changes:
New-NetFirewallRule `
-DisplayName "Temporary restriction for Azure Local management" `
-Direction Inbound `
-Action Block `
-Profile Domain,Private,Public `
-RemoteAddress "10.0.0.0/8","172.16.0.0/12","192.168.0.0/16" `
-Protocol TCP
This example is intentionally a containment template, not a product-specific fix. It blocks private-network sources broadly and may disrupt cluster, management, or update traffic; adapt it only after identifying approved management paths, or enforce the equivalent restriction at the network firewall. Remove or revise the rule after applying Microsoft’s supported remediation and validating service health.
Recommended Response Checklist
- Inventory all Azure Local Disconnected Operations deployments.
- Record each deployment’s release, build, servicing level, and network exposure.
- Retrieve the current Microsoft MSRC advisory for CVE-2026-42822.
- Confirm the affected version range, fixed release, and supported update path.
- Restrict access to approved management networks while status is unverified.
- Remove unnecessary Internet and broad internal-network exposure.
- Review authentication, privilege-change, and administrative activity logs.
- Preserve evidence and follow incident-response procedures if suspicious activity is found.
- Apply Microsoft’s supported fix and verify the resulting build.
- Continue monitoring for exploitation reports and changes to CISA KEV status.
References
-
Microsoft MSRC: CVE-2026-42822
Authoritative source for affected versions, fixed release, update instructions, and Microsoft’s technical description. The retrieved page did not expose the rendered advisory content. -
NVD: CVE-2026-42822
Source for the reported CVE description and CVSS 10.0 assessment. The complete CVSS vector and affected-version range require direct verification in the full record. -
CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities Catalog
CVE-2026-42822 was not listed in the supplied KEV lookup. That status is not proof that exploitation has never occurred.
This article may contain affiliate links. We earn a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.